Brief History

Netaji Mahavidyalaya started its functioning in the year 1948. The department of Physics is one of the oldest departments of this college which started its journey right from the year 1948. The Honours course in Physics was started in the year 1999. Before the present faculty of the department, Prof. Ganesh Chandra Hatui, Demonstrator Mr. Chittaranjan Pan, Prof. Sristidhar Samanta, Demonstrator Mr. Bhaskar Chandra Nayek, Prof. Ananda Mohon Mondal and Prof. (Dr.) Abani Mohon Rudra served in this department with whole hearted devotion and sincerity.

The department started with seven seats for the students at the Honours level. The number of the seats for the same has been increased to twenty-five since 2009.Total number of sanctioned teaching posts of the department is four including one for Electronics Science. At present, there are two full-time teachers in Physics: Dr. Binay Malakar (M.Sc. in Physics from C.U. and Ph.D. from the Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science) and Anupam Das (M.Sc. in Physics), one teacher in Electronics Science: Manas Pal (M.Sc in Electronics Science from C.U. and M.Tech. in Information Technology from Jadavpur University) (since May, 2014), one part-time teacher: Subhankar Ghosh (M.Sc. in Physics from B.H.U.) and two guest teachers: Suman Kumar Kundu (M.Sc. in Physics from C.U.) and Anamika Patra (M.Sc. in Physics from C.U.) both since October 2014. Apart from conducting usual teaching-learning activities in Physics (Hons and general courses) the department carries out other activities which include excursions to academic institutes of higher learning by the students, organizing quiz and seminars by the students and bringing out wall magazine every year. The department has a good laboratory and a departmental library which are used by the students of the department. The department organized a UGC sponsored National level seminar on “History of Physics” in 2012. This was done in collaboration with the Dept. of Physics, University of Calcutta.


Faculty Profile





Dr. Binay Malakar

M.Sc., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Nuclear Physics

Anupam Das


Assistant Professor

High Energy Physics

  Subhankar Ghosh


Govt. Approved PPT

Nuclear and Particle Physics

Special Features

  • In the last academic year (2013-2014), Dola Chakraborty, a student of our department stood first in the B.Sc. Hons. examination in Physics.
  • In 2012, the department organized a UGC sponsored National level seminar on “History of Physics” in collaboration with the University of Calcutta.
  • Many students of this department are working as teachers. Some students also qualified in NET and are now pursuing their Ph.D. work.

One unique feature of this department is that the department has a refracting telescope which helps the students to watch sky.