Brief History


The department of Geography of Netaji Mahavidyalaya, Arambagh, Hooghly started functioning from August 1990 offering only B.A./B.Sc. General course and Higher Secondary Course (10+2) under the University of Burdwan and West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education respectively. One substantive post was created in 1990 and the second one was created in 2006. Geography Hons. Course was started in 1996. The department manages to meet the need of teachers by appointing Part-time Teachers.

The first post was created and filled up by Mr. P. Ghosh, M.A. he subsequently obtained doctoral degree in 1997. The second post was created and filled up in 2006 by Ms. Mahamaya Laha, M.A. She was awarded Ph.D degree in 2008.from The University of Burdwan. So far several Part- time Teachers have been appointed to meet the scarcity of teachers. They are Prof. N. Jana, S. Hazra, G.S. Pal, K. Chatterjee, S. Guchhait, S. Rakshit, B. Manna, C. Manna, S. Mondal, S. Chaudhury, K.Dey, K. Mondal, S. Karak, A. Dey. At present Mr. Sintu Mondal and Mr. Dipankar Jana are working as permanent Part-Time Teachers.

excgeo1 excgeo2


Faculty Profile







Dr. Paramartha Ghosh

M.A, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Advanced Pedology


Dr. Mahamaya Laha


Assistant Professor

Agricultural Geography


Prof. Sintu Mondal


Part- time Teacher

Population Geography


Prof. Dipankar Jana


Part- time Teacher

Population Geography


excgeo3 excgeo4

Special Features


  • Opening of Remote Sensing and GIS laboratory with Eight computers, Printers and Scanner.
  • Continuous excursion and field survey in the nearby areas within or outside the state.
  • Dr. Paramartha Ghosh is guiding two Ph.D scholars.




excgeo5 excgeo6
excgeo7 excgeo8
excgeo9 excgeo10